Loose Ends

I’m sorting through cine film and pics I took in the early 60’s with a view to completing my film making efforts for that era. Amongst my group of friends I was the only one taking colour pics let alone 8mm cine in the early 60’s so I have some interesting stuff that they might want to see.

The fact that I was the only one using cine or taking pics was not because I was well off. On the contrary. It was just different priorities with scarce resources. A 3 minute cine film would cost me half of my weekly wage of £7.party

In the last posting I was wondering where my first love Julie, was now. I happened to be searching the electoral roll, for which I paid £3.95 for an hour’s use – and I took a long shot and tried for a couple of others – to get my money’s worth, so to speak. Well, I was amazed that I was able to find Julie in one go, and I had a pleasant conversation with her husband of 40 years.

I then did a second search for Barry, whom Julie knew too, and I found him living just 30 miles or so from me. We had a couple of amazing conversations with each of us having the same and sometimes different memories of those times. No doubt we will meet soon.

The whole point of that exercise was to see if they wanted copies of the cine on DVD. Barry featured in most of the stuff up until 1963 and in fact the only reason that I appear on film is that Barry was quite a good cameraman – an important point when film cost was the equivalent of £80 for 3 minutes in todays wages.

The pic above from left to right. Me, Julie, Barry.

This entry was posted in 2000's, time flies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

