School Years #1

The first time I attended school was at the age of five and as I said previously that was at Yapton in Sussex. As I said marmalade tart was part of the school lunch one day. I remember absolutely nothing more.

We returned to our council house home in Leeds sometime in September , I assume. I attended infants school in Harehills Lane. At the age of five I was expected to make my own way to and from school. This involved crossing a main road, Harehills Lane, without the aid of a lollypop man/woman. I don’t think “school crossing patrols” existed for quite a few more years in fact not until the late 50’s early 60’s except London when they were first introduced in 1953. They were different days as different from today as the Victorian era of my grandfathers was to then. Parents attitude in all matters concerning the raising of  children were unbelievable when thought about in later years.

I do remember cold winters,  classrooms heated by coke stoves, and sitting on the floor in a circle on Friday afternoons with a woman teacher reading stories of Brer Rabbit and suchlike. They must have made a good start on reading and writing because I don’t remember any problems in those subjects.

I cannot have been at that school more than a couple of years because we moved to Gledhow but in the meantime I was usually walking to school holding hands with my first girlfriend so to speak. She was called Carol and lived round the corner from us in Roberts Avenue. I do know that we walked in the snow during the harsh winter of 1947 so we must have moved in 1948 to our new semi detached house purchased for £1250.

Having moved I then went to a Church of England school in Gledhow Lane. This was the school where progress was made in learning the times tables by rote and all the other basics of education. This was another school heated by coke stoves in the classrooms. Memories of that time have faded somewhat but I could only have been there for a year or so before going to the Talbot Road C.P. junior school where the first and most devastating injustice was made in my education.

This entry was posted in 1940's, education, just a boy, travels, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

